Paul and The Pauline Letters: Romans

Introducing Romans, a kind of introduction-ahead-of-time to Richard Longenecker's forthcoming commentary on Romans, is a major achievement in its own right, the fruit of at least fifty years of scholarship on the apostle Paul and on Romans in particular. It can stand alone as an indispensable handbook for anyone venturing to write a commentary of one's own or for anyone who wants to teach or understand that classic letter. Above all, Longenecker succeeds admirably in putting the many issues surrounding Romans in the broadest possible historical context, encompassing not just recent fashions but the legacy of centuries. Seasoned scholars and beginning students alike have every reason to be grateful.

Introduction -- Recent interpretation of Romans -- Why Paul wrote to Rome -- Paul's rhetorical task -- The structure of the letter -- Two further issues -- General bibliography -- Translation, interpretation, notes: -- Introduction -- Body of the letter -- pt. 1. The inclusive saving power of the gospel: -- The inclusion of the Gentiles on the basis of righteousness by faith -- The sure hope of salvation springing from righteousness by faith -- The inclusion of Israel -- Summons to live according to the gospel -- Conclusion of the letter

St. Paul's Letter to the Romans has long been considered the theological high-watermark of the New Testament. It was no less regarded by the ancient church, and patristic interpreters have left us an abundance of valuable comment on Romans. This Ancient Christian Commentary on Romans collects the best and most representative of patristic commentary and homily on Romans, and it brings to the public some valuable

For over one hundred years International Critical Commentaries have had a special place among works in English on the Bible.They have sought to bring together all the relevant aids to exegesis,linguistic and textual no less than archaeological,historical,literary and theological to help the reader understand the meaning of the books of the Old and New Testament.

Preface/Abbreviations and Sources/Introduction to the Epistles of St.Paul/The life of St.Paul/The Epistles of St.Paul/Introduction to the theology of St.Paul/Introduction to St.Paul's Epistles to the Galatians and the Romans/Map of the missionary journeys of St.Paul/The Epistle of St.Paul to the Romans:English and Latin verstions,with notes/Hadings added to the text of the Epistles for this edition.

Deeply conversant in the full range of questions and interpretations of the letter, Jewett's commentary explores the crucial and controverted passages that have always animated studies of Romans.

The New International Biblical Commentary offers the best of contemporary scholarship in a format that both general readers and serious students can use with profit. Based on the widely used New International Version translation ,the NIBC presents careful section-by-section exposition with key terms and phrases highlighted and all Greek transliterated.A separate section of notes at the close of each chapter provides additional textual and technical comments. Each commentary also includes a selected bibliography as well as scripture and subject indexes.

Building on his own translation from the Greek, Hultgren walks readers through Romans verse by verse, illuminating the text with helpful comments, probing into major puzzles, and highlighting the letter's most inspiring features. He also demonstrates the forward-looking, missional character of Paul's epistle -- written, as Hultgren suggests, to introduce Roman Christians to the major themes of Paul's theology and to inspire in them both confidence in the soundness of his teaching and support for his planned missionary efforts in Spain.

In this volume, respected New Testament scholar Frank Matera examines cultural context and theological meaning in Romans. This commentary, like each in the eighteen-volume Paideia series, approaches each text in its final, canonical form, proceeding by sense units rather than word-by-word or verse-by-verse. Each sense unit is explored in three sections: (1) introductory matters, (2) tracing the train of thought, (3) key hermeneutical and theological questions. Graduate and seminary students, professors, and pastors will benefit from this readable commentary, as will theological libraries.

Romans was written to deal with the particular historical problem of the relations between Jewish and Gentile Christians in Rome. The function of Paul's gospel was to unify these two, while its content was a theology that placed Jew and Gentile on an equal footing, both in their sin and in their salvation. Sometimes a modern situation corresponds to Paul's original one. In such a case, Romans speaks directly. Most of the time, modern situations are different from those in Paul's time. Romans still speaks. Although the content of Romans was elaborated in a particular cultural context, its applicability goes far beyond the original milieu, as Christian history has amply demonstrated. Distinguished biblical scholar Charles Talbert's Romans leads readers into the biblical world of Paul's Letter to the Romans, while at the same time it seeks to open our ears to the lasting truth of God's word for today ... the primary goal of the Smyth & Helwys Bible Commentary series is to make available serious, credible biblical scholarship in an accessible and less intimidating format. A visual generation of believers deserves a commentary series that contains not only the all-important textual commentary on Scripture, but images, photographs, maps, works of fine art, and drawings that bring the text to life. Each volume of the Smyth & Helwys Bible Commentary series features a CD-ROM, which expands the uses and capabilities of the Commentary even more.

Part of the series "Romans Through History and Culture", this book explores Augustine's hermeneutics. His reliance on biblical interpretation as a pillar of Christian life is examined in light of his writings on a single book: Paul's Letter to the Romans.

Esler provides an analysis of Paul's epistle to the Romans, employing social-scientific methods along with epigraphy and archaeology. His conclusion is that Paul was attempting to facilitate the resolution of intergroup conflict among the Christ-followers of Rome, especially between Judeans and non-Judeans, and to establish a new identity for them.

This work consists of 14 contributions by North-American and European medievalists and Pauline scholars who discuss significant readings of Romans through the 12th and 13th centuries to the eve of the Reformation.

I. Epistolary literature in Hellenism : Graeco [Greco] -Roman letters ; Types of letters ; Letter theorists and handbooks ; Characteristic features of the Greek letter ; Summary: Hellenistic letters ; Primitive Christian letters -- II. The Pauline letters : Adaptations and modifications ; The form of the Pauline letters : Opening ; Thanksgiving or blessing ; Body ; Paraenesis ; Closing. Summary and observations: the Pauline letters -- III. Forms within the New Testament epistles : Study of the epistles : Stylistic and rhetorical features ; Structural features ; Formal and generic traits ; Use of traditional materials. Formal elements in the letters : Autobiography ; Apocalyptic ; Catalogues and lists ; Catechesis ; Confessional formulae ; Hymnic materials ; Judgment ; Additional formal elements -- IV. Early Christian letters : Post- Pauline writings in letter form ; The Pseudo-Pauline and universal letters ; Post-Canonical letters ; Interpretive reflections.

The dominance of the Scriptures in Romans 9-11 is the decisive factor for their comprehension,so that it can be affirmed that here we have an example of "scriptural argumentation".This work is a systematic study of how and why Paul's argumentation is combined with the scriptural rferences in these chapters and consequently it deals with rhetorical analysis and scriptural exegesis together.At every level of the argumentation(inventio,dispositio,and elocutio),it tries to verify how and why the Scriptures enter or not into the rhetorical procedure and in what manner they determine its whole course. The detection and the analysis of Paul's particular method of argumentation through the Scriptures permit a better grasp of the content of Rom 9-11. In this perspective,which respects the proper characteristics of the discourse,the numerous aporias and difficulties which these chapters pose for exegesis are resolved more easily. The study discovers the innovative way of reading and interpreting Scripture that the Apostle displays in these chapters.As a consequence,this permits a better appreciation of the importance that the Scriptures have in Christian proclamation and experience,in the way that Paul communicates it to us.

This volume continues Brian J. Abasciano's intertextual exegesis of Romans 9 started in his acclaimed volume,Paul's Use of the Old Testament in Romans 9.1-9. Abasciano's method incorporates into a thorough traditional exegesis a comprehensive analysis of Paul's use of Scripture against the background of interpretive traditions surrounding the texts alluded to, with great emphasis placed on analyzing the original contexts of Paul's citations and allusions.This intertextual exegesis is conducted with an awareness of the broader unit of chapters 9-11 especially,as well as the epistle as a whole.Based on careful,detailed exegesis, Abasciano tackles controversial theological subjects with precision and depth,such as election and divine hardening of human beings,shedding light on Paul's theology as it unfolds in Rom.9.10-18.

This study illustrates how Paul reworks Old Testament citations in Romans to incorporate the Gentiles into Israel's covenant-renewal texts.

Contents: Toward a rereading of Romans -- Readers in Romans and the meaning of self-mastery -- Gentile culture and God's impartial justice (1:18-2:16) -- Warning a Greek and debating a fellow Jew -- Paul's dialogue with a fellow Jew -- Paul on sin and works of the law (3:9-20) -- God's merciful justice in Christ's faithfulness (3:21-33) -- One God and one Father Abraham (3:27-5:11) -- The Gentile share in Christ's obedience and life (Chapters 5-8) -- A warning and a promise to Gentiles (Chapters 9-11) -- Faithfulness as adaptability: an ethic of community for Gentiles (Chapters 12-14)

Neil Elliott offers an interpretation of Paul's letter to the Romans in the context of Roman imperial ideology, setting it alongside Roman works and bringing to the text recent insights from classical studies, rhetorical criticism, postcolonial criticism and people's history.

Krister Stendahl offers a reading of Paul's letter to the Romans, the "final account" of the major themes of Paul's theology. Among these are the conceptual underpinnings of Paul's mission, the grand divine plan for the mending of creation, the redemption of Israel, the mystery of the inclusion of the Gentiles, the relation of the "macro" to the "micro" in Paul's thought--and much more.

This work argues that Romans can be understood as Paul's telling of a master story - about what God has done in Christ - and its implications for the mission of the Roman churches. It explains why Paul tells the stories and shows how these are related to his larger narrative of God's righteousness.